MPs have voted to allow Theresa May to trigger Article 50 and begin negotiations for the UK to leave the European Union.

The government’s bill, which was controversially supported by the Labour leadership, was backed by 498 votes to 114.

The bill was opposed by the Scottish National Party and Liberal Democrat leadership, while several leading Labour MPs and former Conservative chancellor Ken Clarke rebelled.

The bill will now face further scrutiny in the Commons and the House of Lords before it can become law.

Prime Minister Theresa May has set a deadline of 31 March to invoke Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty and begin formal negotiations with European partners on Brexit.

The vote follows the non-binding referendum on the 23 June, where 51.9% of voters opted to leave the EU.

The vote has left the British public bitterly divided after a campaign of lies and half-truths, but Theresa May insists she has a mandate and has refuses to offer voters the chance to have a final on whether the deal she negotiates on Brexit is satisfactory.



Comments are closed.