People have begun to cast their votes in a series of elections across the UK dubbed “Super Thursday”.

Elections are taking place for the Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly of Wales, the Northern Ireland Assembly, and for 2,747 seats within 124 councils across England, including the London Assembly.

Voters are also electing new mayors in London, Bristol, Liverpool, and Salford, and UK parliamentary by-elections are being held in Ogmore and Sheffield Brightside.

Police and crime commissioners are also up for election in 40 police force areas across England and Wales.

Polling stations opened at 07:00 BST and will remain open until 22:00 BST, in the last test of political opinion until voters decide on the question of the UK’s role within the European Union on 23 June.


Comments are closed.