Lawmakers will be guaranteed a meaningful vote on the final Brexit deal agreed between the UK and EU after the government was defeated on a key Brexit bill vote.

Theresa May had argued that such a guarantee would jeopardise the possibility of a smooth departure from the EU, and ministers had insisted that MPs would get a vote only between the deal and crashing out the EU on WTO rules. However, rebel Tory MPs joined those form Labour, the SNP, the Liberal Democrats, and the Greens to defeat the government in a tight 309 to 305 vote.

The amendment was authored by former attorney general Dominic Grieve and supported by pro-Remain campaigners alongside colleagues worried about a government power-grab over Brexit.

A number of last-minute concession by the Brexit secretary, David Davis, and an intensive campaign by Conservative whips to brings lawmakers in line, failed to win over rebels.

Tory MP Anna Soubry said she “put the interests of everyone in the UK before party loyalty” by voting in support of the amendment.

As a result of the vote, a new Act of Parliament will be required before ministers can implement any deal agreed in Brussels.

Rebel Tory MPs along with colleagues from across the political spectrum cheered and clapped as the result of the vote was read out, giving parliament a “meaningful vote” on the future of Brexit.



Comments are closed.